Committee Representation

Barrier Free Manitoba

Representative: Jeannette DeLong

Background: Barrier-Free Manitoba is a non-partisan, non-profit, cross-disability initiative that was formed in 2008 with a goal of getting the Province Manitoba to enact strong and effective legislation that requires the removal of existing barriers and prevents the creation of new ones.

This legislation was passed and proclaimed on December 5, 2013 in the form of the Accessibility for Manitobans Act. This was accomplished because of the widespread support provided by organizations and individuals from and beyond Manitoba’s disability communities.

Membership: Community Living Manitoba, New Directions, Abilities Manitoba, Children’s Coalition, Manitoba Supported Employment Network.


Day Services Review Advisory Committee

Representative: Krista Bissett

Background: The Day Services Review Advisory Committee began meeting in the fall of 2013 and continues to meet on a regular basis. Our purpose is to develop a standardized consistent approach to how agencies are funded and to identify efficiencies in services while promoting greater independence and community participation.


MDC Task Force

Representative: Jennifer Hagedorn

Background: This committee formed to ensure the recommendations that arose from the Human Rights Complaint were followed through on.

Membership: Representatives from People First, CL Manitoba, CL Winnipeg, Public Interest Law Centre, St. Amant, Abilities Manitoba.


Public Guardian and Trustee Working Group 

Representative: Leanne Fenez

Background: Member agencies within Abilities Manitoba had expressed increasing frustration with the Public Guardian and Trustee’s changes in practices related to Property/Financial matters as well as Personal matters. Representatives from 14 different agencies across the province met in January 2015 to gather information and the committee was formed after the concerns were brought froward at a meeting between CLdS and Abilities Manitoba. The purpose of this working group is to focus on broader policy/process issues that community reps collectively highlighted. Agencies will continue to simultaneously work to resolve specific issues with the relevant CSW and PGT Administrator.

Membership: Representatives from Public Guardian and Trustee, Family Services and Abilities Manitoba.


Red River College Advisory Committee

Representative: Leslie Udell

Background: This committee meets twice a year to provide guidance and advice on all matters related to the Disability and Community Support Program at Red River College to ensure program relevance to both students and employees.

Membership: The Advisory Committee consists of representatives from Red River College, student representatives, a Family Services Representative and community representatives.


Wage Enhancement Fund Committee

Representatives: Jeannette DeLong and Malinda Roberts

Background: This committee was formed to guide the implementation of the Wage Enhancement initiative from CLdS.

Membership: This committee is chaired by a representative from Treasury Board. Representatives are from CLdS, Unions, Westman Parkland Network and Abilities Manitoba.